The first blog post is always the most difficult one.  You have to set the tone and give a description of what your intentions are.  If you’re like me, you might also feel the need to introduce yourself.  So maybe that is where I will start.

My name is Christine and I am a 26 year old Women’s Studies student at the University of Western Ontario.  I have lived in London, Ontario with my partner of six years for just about the same amount of time.  I spend most of my time working as a research assistant to three professors on campus while also working evenings and weekends at the campus movie theatre, Western Film.  When I am not working, I am spending my time watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer, exploring the Internet, and engaging in philosophical debate with my cat.

I am a feminist and that is what this blog is going to be about.  I take much of my inspiration from other established feminist blogs such as Feministing.com.  I understand that the word feminist makes some people nervous.  I also understand that by declaring myself as a feminist, I am placing a label on myself that carries a multitude of presumptions.  All I ask is that anyone reading this blog read it with as open a mind as possible.  And I hope that many of the ideas and information written about will be interesting and thought provoking.  Debate is welcome, so long as it remains civil.

Over the last year or so I have had the privilege to be surrounded by inspiring and enthusiastic people who have encouraged me to pursue endeavours such as this blog.  I hope that a few of them are willing to join in and collaborate with me on this blog, in fact I would prefer if they did.  I do not presume to have all the answers or speak for a singular feminist experience and so I hope that others voices might be added.

Well, I don’t think this first post is half bad, do you?  Everything else should just fall into place now.

